h1

Welcome Wizards, my bio

March 20, 2006

This is my blog dedicated to all of the pissed off old school Magic the Gathering players. All of these new sets and crappy cards and new abilities and junk. NOT ZESTY!!!!!! I started playing Magic when the revised edition was released. I was an avid Spellfire player, hey I was heavily into D&D and this game friggin rocked. Every single card in that game came from D&D, all of the versions Forgotton Realms, Ravenroft, you name it. All inclusive. I remember doing a demo at this bookstore where we, my uncle and I, made our magic/d&d/battletech purchases. I told you I was a huge nerd. Anyway, we were sitting at a long table playing our Spellfire and others were playing Magic. The goal was to play the game and let passers by watch and ask questions about it. The Magic players got way more attention and everyone was saying that it was just cooler and more fun. My uncle, out of sure curiousity purchased two starter decks of Revised just to learn how to play. Much to our dismay, the game was easy to learn, the playability was off the charts, and the combinations were endless. 5 colors to choose from, and endless possibilities. You want to run a red/black goblin/rat deck, go ahead. I became instantly obsessed with the game. My uncle and older cousin, went on the spending spree’s purchasing booster box after booster box. The book store my aunt worked at sold them for $44 each at her cost. HELLO, good luck getting that price on a revised booster box. I was at a loss, being in junior high, unable to purchase packs. My uncle saw my ability to manipulate the cards and was amazed with what I was able to put together. He allowed me to rifle through his cards and put together combinations that would later appear in the Scrye and Duelist magazines. He would then use these combos against my cousin, who would get furious because he put together good decks and he couldn’t understand how he would keep losing. Until he let ME look through his cards. I showed him so many things he hadnt even considered. That kept him into the game and between me and him, we played out some gruesome games, awesome to the core. 60 card decks that were so intense and amazing, we would run out of cards before we ran out of creatures and direct damage to kill off each other. I would do work for them on the side in exchange for magic boosters and extras they had. I would go on to play at construction tournaments and pre-release tournaments. I discovered my strength was sealed deck tournament. One starter and two boosters. I almost won the Mirage pre-release. Anyway, after the Urza Saga/Destiny/Legacy, the sets started getting terrible. They were released too fast, and the sets werent that great. I decided to stop buying, and then stop playing. Now, I am back with my best friends, and we are only playing old school. 6th and 8th edition are allowed only cause we can afford the cards since they are pretty much remakes of the classics like Royal Assassin and Shivan Dragon, which I got out of my booster box. Yea.

I want this blog to be dedicated to MTG old school. Reminise about the good old days, with combinatations and discussions as well as playing tournaments and things of that nature.

Leave a comment